Friday Weigh-In

I now weigh 193 lbs, down from 207 in March, and about 8 lbs away from my initial goal of 185. I say “initial goal” because I suspect I really need to get between 180 and 175 (at least) in order to be lean. It is important. For my long-term health, you see.

Ha! Who am I kidding, this is my long term goal:

Riding bareback in a bathing suit picking up chicks, why the hell not?

Anyway I am still keeping an average loss of 1.5 lbs / week, which is better than I expected. Part of it may be increased physical activity: I spending more time outdoors and I changed around my weightlifting routine to take into account the fact that I can’t lift as much while cutting calories.

My new lifting strategy is to hit my minimum weights and repetitions, then repeat the same lift at about 50% of my max for high repetitions. For example, I might do the following sets for squats:

  • 185 x 3 reps
  • 210 x 3 reps
  • 240 x 3 reps
  • 135 x 3 sets x 10 reps

Before I would do 240 for as many reps as I could and just stop there, but on a caloric deficit I can only manage half the reps I did before, say 4 instead of 8. Now I make up the lost volume with lower weights. I did not come up with this idea myself, it is loosely derived from a module of the 5/3/1 program I follow (which recommends 5×10 on the low weights, something I don’t feel up to quite yet but maybe in a month or so). The extra work feels better both mentally and physically.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

